Fiona Boyes Nominated At Memphis Blues Awards

Fiona Boyes has been nominated yet again for the Blues Music Awards to be held in Memphis on Thursday May 9.

Boyes has been nominated for the Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female Artist) with other nominees being Lindsay Beaver, 
Ruthie Foster
, Sue Foley and 
Trudy Lynn.

Boyes remains the only Australian artists to be nominated at the Blues Awards in its 39 year history and has enjoyed multiple nominations in various categories.

Boyes has also garnered 4 nominations in the 2019 Australian Blues Music Awards, to be announced in February 2019, for Blues Album of the Year (Voodoo in the Shadows), Artist of the Year, Band of the Year, and Song of the Year (‘Call Their Name’)capping a busy 12 months of touring in Europe, South Africa, America and Australia.

Universally recognised as the top accolade for blues musicians, the BMAs annually honor the past year’s exceptional achievements in performances, recordings, and songwriting, along with serving to sustain the blues’ rich cultural traditions.

The Blues Foundation will host its historic 40th Annual Blues Music Awards on Thursday, May 9 at 7 p.m. at Memphis’ Cook Convention Center.


Acoustic Album:
A Woman’s Soul – Rory Block               
Black Cowboys – Dom Flemons           
Global Griot – Eric Bibb         
Journeys To The Heart Of The Blues – Joe Louis Walker/Bruce Katz/Giles Robson  
Wish The World Away – Ben Rice       
Acoustic Artist:
Ben Rice
Guy Davis
Hadden Sayers
Harrison Kennedy
Rory Block
Album of the Year:
America’s Child – Shemekia Copeland
The High Cost Of Low Living – The Nick Moss Band Featuring Dennis Gruenling
Journeys To The Heart Of The Blues – Joe Louis Walker/Bruce Katz/Giles Robson
Rough Cut – Curtis Salgado and Alan Hager
Why Did You Have To Go – Anthony Geraci
B.B. King Entertainer:
Beth Hart
Bobby Rush
Lil’ Ed Williams
Michael Ledbetter
Sugaray Rayford
Band of the Year:
Anthony Geraci & The Boston Blues All-Stars
Larkin Poe
Lil’ Ed & the Blues Imperials
Nick Moss Band
Welch-Ledbetter Connection
Best Emerging Artist Album:
Burn Me Alive – Heather Newman
Free– Amanda Fish
Heartland And Soul – Kevin Burt
Tough As Love – Lindsay Beaver
Wish The World Away – Ben Rice
Blues Rock Album:
The Big Bad Blues – Billy F Gibbons
High Desert Heat 
– Too Slim and the Taildraggers
Live At The ’62 Center – Albert Cummings        
Poor Until Payday – The Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band                          
Winning Hand – Tinsley Ellis
Blues Rock Artist:
Billy F Gibbons
Eric Gales
J.P. Soars
Kenny Wayne Shepherd
Tinsley Ellis              
Contemporary Blues Album:
America’s Child – Shemekia Copeland                
Belle Of The West – Samantha Fish   
Chicago Plays The Stones – The Living History Band
Hold On – Kirk Fletcher         
Wild Again – The Proven Ones
Contemporary Blues Female Artist:
Beth Hart
Danielle Nicole
Samantha Fish
Shemekia Copeland
Vanessa Collier
Contemporary Blues Male Artist:
Kenny Neal
Rick Estrin
Ronnie Baker Brooks
Selwyn Birchwood
Toronzo Cannon
Instrumentalist – Bass:
Danielle Nicole
Michael “Mudcat” Ward
Patrick Rynn
Scot Sutherland
Willie J. Campbell
Instrumentalist – Drums:
Cedric Burnside
Jimi Bott
June Core
Tom Hambridge
Tony Braunagel
Instrumentalist – Guitar:
Anson Funderburgh
Christoffer “Kid” Andersen
Laura Chavez
Monster Mike Welch
Ronnie Earl             
Instrumentalist – Harmonica:
Billy Branch
Bob Corritore
Dennis Gruenling
Kim Wilson
Mark Hummel
Instrumentalist – Horn:
Doug James
Jimmy Carpenter
Kaz Kazzanof
Mindi Abair
Nancy Wright
Vanessa Collier
Pinetop Perkins Piano Player (Instrumentalist – Piano):
Anthony Geraci
Bruce Katz
Jim Pugh
Marcia Ball
Mike Finnigan
Instrumentalist – Vocals:
Beth Hart
Danielle Nicole
Janiva Magness
Michael Ledbetter
Shemekia Copeland
Song of the Year:
“Ain’t Got Time For Hate,” written by John Hahn and Will Kimbrough
“Angelina, Angelina,” written by Anthony Geraci
“Cognac,” written by Buddy Guy, Tom Hambridge, and Richard Fleming
“No Mercy In This Land,” written by Ben Harper
“The Ice Queen,” written by Sue Foley
Soul Blues Album:
Back In Business – Frank Bey               
Every Soul’s A Star – Dave Keller        
I’m Still Around – Johnny Rawls           
Love Makes A Woman – The Knickerbocker All-Stars
Reckoning – Billy Price
Soul Blues Female Artist:
Annika Chambers
Barbara Blue
Candi Staton
Thornetta Davis
Whitney Shay
Soul Blues Male Artist:
Frank Bey
Johnny Rawls
Sugaray Rayford
Wee Willie Walker
William Bell
Traditional Blues Album:
The Blues Is Alive And Well – Buddy Guy          
The High Cost Of Low Living – Nick Moss Band Featuring Dennis Gruenling
The Luckiest Man – Ronnie Earl & The Broadcasters
Tribute to Carey Bell – Lurrie Bell & the Bell Dynasty 
Why Did You Have To Go – Anthony Geraci
Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female Artist):
Fiona Boyes
Lindsay Beaver
Ruthie Foster
Sue Foley
Trudy Lynn
Traditional Blues Male Artist:
Anthony Geraci
Cedric Burnside
James Harman
Lurrie Bell
Nick Moss 

The 40th Blues Music Awards will be held on Thursday, May 9th, 2019
at the Memphis Cook Convention Center. The Blues Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonywill take place the night before, Wednesday, May 8th, 2019 at the Halloran Centre for Performing Arts and Education.

Ticket sales are now open!

Individual Tickets – $150 per person
Regular Tables for 10 – $1,500
Premium Tables for 10 – $1,800
BHOF Induction Ceremony Tickets – $75 per person